Workforce banner

 Mental Health and Primary Care eLearning.



These CPD eLearning modules have been designed with input from nurses working in primary care and other experts, are evidence based, and include real life scenarios that primary care nurses experience in day-to-day practice. 

The Mental Health Essentials eLearning program has been developed by the ACMHN, with funding from the Australian Government Department of Health, to support nurses working in general practice and primary care to develop their knowledge, skills and confidence to incorporate mental health into day-to-day practice. This program will help you to work to the Mental Health Practice Standards for Nurses in Australian General Practice

The program includes 6 x 1 hour modules, which you can do one at a time, or all in one sitting. We estimate it will take you between 30 to 60 minutes to complete each of the following modules:

Module 1: About mental health

Module 2: About mental illness and ways to engage

Module 3: Therapeutic approaches for everyday practice

Module 4: Mental health assessment, risk assessment and (care) planning

Module 5: Referral, documentation and care coordination

Module 6: Knowledge to Practice (This module supports your growing skills and confidence around mental health and your role in a stepped care mental health response. It uses practice-based examples to further explore and expand on strategies described in Modules 1 to 5)


CLICK HERE to sign-up and get started! (Please note that your browser will open up in a new window and take you to the eLearning portal where you will need to sign-up for an account.) 

Need to return to the ACMHN eLearning Portal?


Mental Health Practice Standards for Nurses in Australian General Practice

1 GPN StandardsFC   

Practice standards define and describe the practice of nurses, and in this instance, aim to guide practice and support the delivery of stepped mental health care by nurses working in general practice and other primary health care settings. 

These Practice Standards have built on the Australian and Nursing Midwifery (ANMF) National Practice Standards for Nurses working in Australian general practice. They provide an important framework against which nurses can self-assess their professional development needs and adjust their clinical practice to ensure that every person seen in the primary care setting has their mental health needs considered and addressed as appropriate.

The Mental Health Practice Standards is free to download:

Download the electronic version here or contact ACMHN National Office on (02) 6285 1078 to find out how you can get a hardcopy document. 



The ACMHN would like to acknowledge the Department of Health for funding the development of the Mental Health Practice Standards and the eLearning Mental Health Essentials Project 2017-2018.


Updated 17 December 2018