ACMHN Mental Health Nurse of the Year

Do you know a colleague that has accomplished an outstanding role as a mental health nurse? Has your mental health nurse performed exceptionally in their role? 

The Australian College of Mental Health Nurses (ACMHN) extends an invitation to all members and consumers for nominations for the Mental Health Nurse of the Year.


This prestigious award was established in 2008 to publicly recognise the achievements of mental health nurses, encourage professional development amongst mental health nurses, and promote the importance of mental health nursing as a specialty.

The ACMHN will provide the winner with a registration, economy airfare and accommodation at its 46th International Mental Health Nursing Conference, to be held on the Gold Coast, Queensland from Wednesday 14 to Friday 16 October 2020. In addition, co-sponsor Wiley will provide a cash prize of $1,500 and a book voucher for $500.


Applications for Mental Health Nurse of the Year opening soon!

For further information on applying please contact

ACMHN Event Manager, Ellen Fraser on 02 6285 1078 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


Previous winners of the Award

2008: Marion Stein 

2009: Donna Hodgson

2010: Debbie Nelson

2011: Jon Chesterson

2012: Tom Ryan

2013: Dianne Wynaden 

2014: Lisa Fawcett

2015: Bill Bailey

2016: Agartha Buku

2017: Matthew Ball

2018: Matthew James


The Mental Health Nurse of the Year Award is co-sponsored by:

Wiley Wordmark black