Stan Alchin Award


The Stan Alchin Award is presented to the best clinical paper presented by a clinician or group of clinicians. To be eligible for the ACMHN Stan Alchin Award it is a requirement that presenters and authors are clinicians.

Abstracts being considered for the Stan Alchin Clinician Award include:

  • Abstract
  • Title
  • Author(s) Surname, Initial.
  • Organisational Affiliation.
  • Introduction and background
  • Aims/objectives
  • Project Description
  • Outcomes/significance/implications for policy and practice change
  • Implications for mental health nursing
  • Identify 2-3 learning objectives significant to paper/poster/workshop


Presentations eligible for the Stan Alchin Clinician Award are assessed against the following criteria:

  1. Introduction and background including aims and objectives
  2. Project description and scope
  3. Outcomes and significance to mental health nursing and/or consumers and family/community
  4. Contributions to new knowledge/Implications for clinical and/or policy area are clear and explicit
  5. Presentation, audience engagement and discussion


Previous Winners

2010 Winner

S. Wilson


2010 Runners Up

Blackford and Benham

S. Trueman


2011 Winner

Margaret Sullivan
Drowning not waving! Identifying stress and trauma during pregnancy and the early years. Lifesavers in adult mental health settings


2011 Runners Up

Derrith Harris
Working with people who kill

Shannon Asa 
Learning to swim between your own flags: Assisting young people with a disability to make ethical judgements and develop healthy sexuality


2012 Winner

Scott Trueman
Engaging Aboriginal clients in remote mental health services; who assesses the assessor? It's a foreign experience for most


2012 Runners Up

Nadia de Vecchi 
Introducing art therapy into psychiatric rehabilitation in rural Australia: a reflective description

Melissa Walker 
Understanding Indigenous women's social and emotional wellbeing and wellness program development in conjunction with ATSI women


2013 Winner

Vincent Drinkwater
Collaborative Approach to the Management of Acute Behavioural Disturbance


2013 Runners Up

Karen Collidge and Joanne Webb
Expanding the clinical practice domains and developing  collaborative models of care – The Mental Health Nurse and Family Based Treatment (FBT) for young people and their families who are experiencing anorexia or bulimia nervosa

Janice Jankovic
Talking the same language


2014 Winner

Judith Foord
SSHOPS - A suicide prevention pilot project for a nurse practitioner model of care


2014 Runners Up

Matthew Ball
Reigniting the passion of the human to human relationship: the courage to suffer

Ah-Nya On
From the locked wards of mental institutions to nurse entrepreneur - the journey


2015 Winner 

Nicole Butterfield 


2016 Winner 

Katie Bleus and Antony Mullen

Addressing power inequalities in people a Community MH Service: A positive risk taking approach


2017 Winner 

Anita Mansfield

The elephant in the ward: Metabolic syndrome and what nurses in acute settings can do


2018 Winner 

Justine Fletcher

Impact of Safewards training and subsequent implementation into practice in Victoria


2019 Winner 

Judith Foord

Mental Health Nurse Practitioners in crisis services-central to integrated care!